April 13, 2024
Speedway Hub - British Speedway News

Battle of the heavyweights in 2024 Australian Senior Solo Championship

Local speedway enthusiasts are in for a summer treat with a brilliant line-up of riders announced for the five-round 2024 Australian Speedway Senior Solo Championship.The 15-rider permanent roster oozes class from every angle, and includes the Holder siblings, Chris and Jack, Max Fricke, Sam Masters, Brady Kurtz and Rohan Tungate. Jack Holder is the reigning Aussie champion, while the others have also been victorious in the past – 2012 Speedway Grand Prix (SGP) world champion Chris Holder leading the way with five championships.The field also includes a talented group of riders who have won in the U21 ranks, including 2020 Australian and FIM World U21 champion Jaimon Lidsey. Australian U21 champions Keynan Rew (2022) and Michael West (2023) will also compete in the Senior Solo Championship.

Australian Speedway Championship 2022

Aussie internationals Ben and Zach Cook, Josh Pickering, Ryan Douglas, James Pearson and Fraser Bowes will also compete.

In total, seven of the top 10 will return from the 2023 championship, so it’ll be action stations from the get-go. Reigning SGP No. 4, Jack Holder, will again be the man to beat as he looks to become the first rider to win consecutive titles since Fricke. In 2022, Holder combined with Fricke and Jason Doyle to win the FIM Speedway of Nations.

The 16th rider at each round will be a wildcard.


• Fraser Bowes
• Ben Cook
• Zach Cook
• Ryan Douglas
• Max Fricke
• Chris Holder
• Jack Holder
• Brady Kurtz
• Jaimon Lidsey
• Sam Masters
• James Pearson
• Josh Pickering
• Keynan Rew
• Rohan Tungate
• Michael West
• Wildcard at each round

1. Jack Morrison
2. Jacob Hook
3. Patrick Hamilton
4. Dale Wood
5. Cordell Rodgerson

The 2024 Australian Speedway Senior Solo Championship will be held over 10 days across four states. The calendar is as follows:

• Rd1: North Brisbane, Qld, January 4
• Rd2: Kurri Kurri, NSW, January 7
• Rd3: Albury-Wodonga, Vic, January 9
• Rd4: Mildura, Vic, January 11
• Rd5: Gillman, SA, January 13

Words and Images by Australian Speedway Championship

Share this news on your socials.