July 17, 2024
Speedway Hub - British Speedway News

Flying Fin! 2023 Formula Grasstrack Championship Round 5 – Race Report & Results

Finley Theobald stormed to a 7 ride maximum on the first day of the 50th anniversary celebration weekend at Alveley on Saturday for the 5th round of the H&N Supplies Ltd Championship. The super fast youngster from Diss won all his races in the Cub class. 2022 champion Logan Price rode steadily to 2nd whist Jessica Cox took 3rd after a solid day’s racing.

Lilly Bence was untroubled in the E-bike class, taking the top step ahead of Dalton Wright and Kobi Gutteridge respectively.

The Auto cadet class is booming this year and its producing some super quick racing from the 6-8 year olds. Alfie Shipp was only beaten twice all day whilst on his way to 1st place. Dakota Wright managed to complete his 6 point scoring rides after 2 heavy falls in practice and race 1 but despite this, he took 2nd overall and some crucial championship points. Wright also picked up the Curran-Bennett award for his heroics throughout the day. Charlie Dowd was consistently racing his way to 3rd and took advantage of Wright missing the final to take 2nd place in that. Lucas Astley continues to improve his grasstrack skills with a solid 4th ahead of FGA newcomer Albie Collier. Kaylem Bourne came home in 6th whilst newcomer Darcy Lewis-Powell rode the wheels off his pw50 to take 7th.

Chloe Davis continued her winning ways in the Cadet category, beating Cadet newbie Amelia Cross who was improving rapidly throughout the afternoon.

The Junior class continues to produced some fantastic racing with an entry of 8 riders. Bristol’s Max Derrick soon gelled with his new RTS chassis to take 7 wins from 7 rides. But it’s wasn’t an easy day at the office, Crewe brothers Joe and Jack were joined by newcomer Jesse James and the 3 were hard on the heals of Derrick, all 4 producing some great racing in the Shropshire Sunshine. Joe Crewe finished 2nd overall with Jesse James 3rd and Jack Crewe 4th. Runcorn’s Liam Cox worked hard for 5th and Jack Baker battled on despite a torrid day on track with bike gremlins to take 6th. Isaac Collins-Bullock and Charly Arthur took 7th and 8th respectively.

Normal service was resumed in the Seniors with Wayne Broadhurst taking 7 wins from 7 and taking home the Martin Parry Rosebowl for the 3rd year in a row. Graham Thomas was only beaten by Broadhurst to take 2nd place and Kevin Gwillam continues his strong season with 3rd overall. Sam Hall dropped 3 points on his way to 4th after battling hard all afternoon. Phil Thomas had to beat Mark Scopes and Max Broadhurst in the final to take 5th after the trio tied on 43 points. Colin How was 8th overall after take 3 seconds and 3 thirds throughout the day.

In the Martin Parry Rosebowl final, Broadhurst got away at the front whilst Gwillam and the Thomas brothers scrapped it out for the final podium places. Gwillam would take 2nd whilst Phil got the better of Graham on the line to take 3rd.


Ebikes – 1st L. Bence 48, 2nd Dalton Wright 42, 3rd K. Gutteridge 36.

Autos – 1st A. Shipp 47, 2nd Dakota Wright 44, 3rd C. Dowd 36, 4th L. Astley 29, 5th A. Collier 25, 6th K. Bourne 18, 7th D. Lewis-Powell 12

Cadets – 1st C. Davis 48, 2nd A. Cross 42

Cubs – 1st F. Theobald 48, 2nd L. Price 42, 3rd J. Cox 30

Juniors – 1st M. Derrick 48, 2nd Joe Crewe 40, 3rd J. James 32, 4th Jack Crewe 29, 5th L. Cox 23, 6th J. Baker 18

Seniors (top 10) – 1st W. Broadhurst 48, 2nd G. Thomas 47, 3rd K. Gwillam 46, 4th S. Hall 45, 5th P. Thomas 43, 6th M. Scopes 43, 7th M. Broadhurst 43, 8th C. How 39, 9th A. Hawker 36, 10th Andrew Rowson 34

Share this news on your socials.