July 17, 2024
Speedway Hub - British Speedway News

Maciej Janowski to spearhead Oxford Spires – Full Line up revealed!

POLISH superstar Maciej Janowski is to return to British racing next season with Sports Insure Premiership newcomers Oxford.

The former World No.3, with eight GP wins to his name, last appeared in the UK league back in 2015 when he rode for Poole.

The Spires have confirmed their full septet with Australian Rohan Tungate also back in the Premiership with former British Champions Chris Harris and Charles Wright joining the club, Nicolai Klindt coming in, and Lewis Kerr returning after racing in the second tier at Cowley last season. Youngster Ashton Boughen takes the Rising Star position.

Manager Peter Schroeck said: “We’re at the beginning of one of the most exciting periods in our club’s proud 84-year history. The Premiership is one of world speedway’s most competitive leagues and we’ve built a team we believe can elevate our reach to not just Oxfordshire and its surrounds, but globally.

“Having Maciej lead the team is a great scoop for us. Only last year he was the third fastest rider in the world and has an outstanding record at the highest level.

“We’ve packed the main body of the team with riders proven at Premiership level, and on the new Oxford Stadium track. Having Lewis back for a second season with the club was something we really wanted to make happen too, and I have no doubt our supporters are just as pleased as we are.

“We’ve been really impressed by the commitment and determination of Ashton too, and next year represents a great opportunity for him riding at Premiership and Championship level for us.”

OXFORD SPIRES 2024 (Pending approval): Maciej Janowski, Nicolai Klindt, Rohan Tungate, Chris Harris, Charles Wright, Lewis Kerr, Ashton Boughen.

Words and Image by British Speedway

Share this news on your socials.